The 36th Gawad Urian List of Winners and Highlights

Considered as the oldest film critics' group in the country and is currently regarded at the counterpart of the United States' New York Film Critics Circle, the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino or MPP (the Filipino Film Critics) formed a partnership with the Philippines' number one cable channel, Cinema One to give  prompt recognition to various progressive filmmakers, to filmmaking as well as emerging cinema talent with a shared desire to move Philippine cinema forward. 

Held recently at the NBC Tent at the BGC (Bonifacio Global City) in Taguig City, the 36th Gawad Urian Awards had centered on acknowledging the Filipinos' unquestionable ingenuity when it comes to acting, directing, writing and filmmaking. This year's Gawad Urian was hosted by some of the country's acclaimed stars - Richard Gomez, Cherie Gil, Butch Francisco, Iza Calzado and Xian Lim. 

From L-R: The 36th Gawad Urian Awards hosts- MPP member/ judge Butch Francisco, Xian Lim, Iza Calzado, Richard Gomez and Cherie Gil

The glittery night was geared up by the live and high performance of X Factor Philippines' first grand winner, KZ Tandingan and Pinoy hiphop and fliptop artist, Abra with popular songs of Filipino rap icon, the late Francis Magalona. The night was filled with stars, producers, people from the local entertainment circles, press, online media  and cinema enthusiasts to bear witness to what is to take place. 

Before the awarding proper starts, we've seen Jericho Rosales arrived with his girlfriend, Kim Jones and also another OPM's pride, Aiza Seguerra came in across our place where we were seated. 

The 36th Gawad Urian Best Actor Jericho Rosales with girlfriend, Kim Jones during the awards night

We were never wrong when we've thought that Aiza will be performing that night. It was an ice-breaker when she held her guitar and performed on stage with all-girl band, General Luna. 

Aiza Seguerra with General Luna band before their performance

Veteran actress in 1930's, Ms. Mila Del Sol, was given the "Natatanging Gawad Urian" special award 

Best Supporting Actress Alessandra de Rossi for the movie "Santa Niña"

We were really entertained by what Alex (Alessandra) had said on her acceptance speech :D She said, "Na-shock ako... na-shock ako na kalaban ko pala ang sarili ko!" And with that, everyone inside the NBC tent had reacted and we all had a great laugh. The main reason for this was, Alex was nominated twice in the same category for her strong performances in her two movies, Mater Dolorosa and Santa Niña. Bravo Alex!!!

Best Actor Jericho Rosales for the movie "Alagwa," during his acceptance speech.

In his glorious moment on stage, Echo had even told his girlfriend, Kim, that they had spent and been through a lot going out of the country attending various award giving bodies, but his very first Urian acting award had paid it all off. Congrats Echo!!! 

Adolfo Alix, Best Director for the film "Mater Dolorosa."

Brillante Mendoza receives his award for Best Production Design in the movie "Thy Womb"

Superstar Ms. Nora Aunor receives her 7th Gawad Urian Best Actress award for the movie "Thy Womb."

Gawad Urian's Traditional Parade of Winners for the year 2013! Congratulations everyone!

The 36th Gawad Urian Complete List of Winners:

  • Supporting Actress - Alessandra de Rossi (Santa Niña)
  • Supporting Actor - Art Acuña
  • Production Design - Brillante Mendoza (Thy Womb)
  • Cinematography - Whammy Alcazaren (Colossal)
  • Editing - Aleks Castañeda (Kalayaan)
  • Music - Diwa de Leon (Baybayin)
  • Best Sound - Willy Fernandez, Bong Sungcang, Ferdinand Marcos Sabarongis (Florentina Hubaldo)
  • Best Documentary - Benito Bautista (Harana)
  • Best Short Film - Remton Siega Zuasola (Ritmo)
  • Natatanging Gawad Urian - Mila del Sol
  • Best Film - Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim (Producers: Cinema One Originals, Skyweaver Productions, Red Motion Media, HYDEntertainment, Alchemy of Vision and Light Film and TV Productions and Conrad Cejoco)
  • Best Director - Adolfo Alix (Mater Dolorosa)
  • Best Screenplay - Mes De Guzman (Diablo)
  • Best Actor - Jericho Rosales (Alagwa)
  • Best Actress - Nora Aunor (Thy Womb)

Catch the 36th Gawad Urian Awards night on television on Cinema  One on June 22 at 3:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m., June 23 at 10:00 p.m. and June 26 at 7:00 p.m.

More Gawad Urian glits and glamour pics here.

Posted in: , , , , , ,

0 Amazing comments for "The 36th Gawad Urian List of Winners and Highlights"

Leave a reply

Feel-free to comment Amazing people! Hope you could also add me on Google Plus (Google +) Thanks!